Octet for Wind Instruments

Audio Sample

Octet for Wind Instruments: III. Finale

Composed by: Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Arranged by: Ben Harbert

Originally written for flute, clarinet, bassoons, trumpets, and trombones, Igor Stravinsky’s Octet for Wind Instruments has been arranged for five electric guitars, one bass guitar, one baritone guitar, and one electric mandolin. Varied pickup selections mimic the sounds of the original instruments, transforming the octet while respecting Stravinsky’s deliberated timbral combinations. Written in 1923, this piece was one of Stravinsky’s early re-examinations of classical and baroque music. While it is clear that he took inspiration from older traditions of Western music, his sense of play and humor offer lightness to this challenging piece.