Organ Sonata No. 1, F minor, Op. 65

Audio Sample

Organ Sonata No. 1, F minor, Op. 65: Allegro moderato e serioso

Composed by: Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1874)
Arranged by: Ben Harbert

The organ and the electric guitar have a lot in common: the physical distance between the played instrument and the sound source; the range of possible effects (organ stops and guitar pedals); the sheer volume; and even some timbral similarities. This arrangement splits the voices juggled by an organist among six electric guitars and two electric basses, creating "clean" and "overdriven" halves of the group. The result showcases the dynamic and timbral range of the electric guitar, offering yet another perspective on the music of the "discoverer" of Johann Sebastian Bach.

Purchase Organ Sonata No. 1, F minor, Op. 65